It's a coffee coloured world

August 28, 2008

Building Muscle

Filed under: Uncategorized — coffeegirl88 @ 10:15 am
Tags:

I have a secret, probably a badly kept one, but a secret just the same.  What is it?  I’m a bad writer.  I don’t mean I write badly.  I mean I don’t write daily.  Sometimes a whole week can slip by before I get back into story.  That has to change.  I know that and am doing something serious about it.

What you ask?

I’ve made a plan to help me build the daily writing muscle.  It’s also a warm up to November and NaNoWriMo.  Yup, I do that.  I’ve done it twice and failed both times.  I shouldn’t be surprised really.  To go from 0 to 1500 words a day is just asking for failure.  So I have a plan.

In the month of September I’m going to write at least 375 words a day.

In the month of October I’m going to write at least 750 words a day.

So in November, the idea of 1500 words won’t scare the pants off me. 

Yup, I’ve broken it down into more manageable bites.  The other thing that gets accomplished here is that I slowly build in writing time during my day.  I lost that schedule some where along the way.  Maybe it was lost in the move?  I don’t know.  So, my plan for the next couple days is to get the materials I need so I have everything possible to succeed.  Okay, so I just need to buy printer paper but it sounded good didn’t it?

My other plan, by the way, is to post a daily word count here to help keep myself honest.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

