It's a coffee coloured world

November 16, 2008

NaNo – day 16

Filed under: Uncategorized — coffeegirl88 @ 10:34 pm
Tags: ,

Day 16 and I’m not fried, this pleases me very much.  But I have found a new challenge.  I had my next story come at me.  On one hand this is good news as I’m still able to create even after writing 30,000 words in 16 days.  It is however, also bad news, but now I have new(ish) shiny that will be trying to distract me from my goal.  I will write at least 50,000 words on “On The Way Down” this month.  So now I have to balance the continuation of this project with the ideas I’m spinning on the new one.  Well, I say new but the idea isn’t so much.  I’ve used this idea for a previous session of Sven and managed maybe 8,000 words total. 

I haven’t written a word today.  I decided to take this Sunday as a creative non-writing day.  So I pulled out some quilting and popped in one of my Netflix discs to enjoy.  And I did, until the movie ended and I realized that it’s the first in a trilogy and it looks likes parts 2 and 3 won’t be made so it didn’t have the proper ending.  I’m not happy about this.  This is the second Sunday in a row where I’ve done this.  I’ve settled in with a movie and quilting and found my self with movies that end abruptly.   Now, I knew that No Country for Old Men had a weird ending, I just wasn’t prepared for it.  I apparently missed the news that The Golden Compass didn’t really end either.  This is frustrating because I am currently in one of those moods where none of the movies I own are interesting.  Give me another month and I’ll be all about my own collection and ignore the Netflix but that’s not now.  I wanted to enjoy a movie, not have to get up during the end credits and do an internet search for part 2 that doesn’t exist. 

Add in to all this that it’s cold and snowing and we’re expecting nearly a foot of snow and this has not been the best Sunday.  Oh and because I’m grumpy about the weather and thinking how much I want to live somewhere a little warmer it has been thinking about the boy from my past again.   So, I’m going to dive back into story and hope it distracts me long enough to produce a couple hundred words I’ll consider today a good one.

2 Comments »

  1. Keep the faith–you’ll finish this one, have another one lined up and ready to go, and the boy will…

    Comment by pamwritesromance — November 17, 2008 @ 4:47 pm

  2. Thanks.

    I still have quite a bit of faith in this story, it’s just fighting the lure of the new shiny and actually I’m not hearing the new story as loud today. Of course I still haven’t sat down and written a word yet today but I will.

    And yes I’m still dreaming about the boy. I really need to do something about that.

    Comment by coffeegirl88 — November 17, 2008 @ 5:00 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

