It's a coffee coloured world

November 18, 2008

Nano – day 18 (we have a problem)

Filed under: Uncategorized — coffeegirl88 @ 4:41 pm
Tags: ,

So, I’ve hit the 30,000 word mark and now as I look at what I have left to write I realize I don’t have enough to push me past the 50,000 word goal.  I have at least 3 sex scenes I need to write and that’s it.  I mean, I look forward to challenging myself to writing longer scenes than I have in the past, but come on this is too much even for me.  20,000 words spread over 3 sex scenes?  Nope that’s too much.  I think this is why I’ve been so distracted with the new shiny project I plan to start fresh on December 1st.  I know that story will push me to well over 50,000 words.  Hell, I expect that first draft to come in closer to 75,000 words.  It’s a longer, more complicated story.  

Now, I do have plans for the next draft of this story and I have faith that I’ll get this story to a real industry standard length with draft two, but that’s not what NaNo is for.  NaNo is first draft madness.  So, here I sit, slowly working out the first of the sex scenes wondering what I’ll do to make it to 50,000.  I’ve come this far, I want to hit that target, but the scenes have to matter to the story.  Here’s hoping my characters have a really brilliant idea or two or twelve in the next couple of days.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

