It's a coffee coloured world

March 19, 2009

Falling in Love

Filed under: Uncategorized — coffeegirl88 @ 12:12 pm
Tags: ,

I was going to say this isn’t about actually falling in love with someone, but maybe it is.

Sometimes I have to be dragged to some wonderful music.  A high school friend co-founded a band and it took me years to actually settle in with a cd and listen and then, well I had to buy every album I found.  And this is actually where this story starts.  There’s a man in that band, he’s part of the touring company and well, every time I see a photo of him, or catch videos of performances my eyes are drawn to him.  That little voice in the back of my head that kept saying “there’s something interesting there in that one” finally started screaming at me, as it often has to.  In some respects I’ve gotten good at listening to that little voice, but not always.  When it’s a danger warning, yup I listen.  When it’s whispering about a story, yup I’m listening.  The rest of the time, until the whispers become screams I don’t pay much attention. 

So where was I?  Oh right.  So I dug around and started listening to samples of music and well, I downloaded an album off iTunes last night.  Listened to the cd from beginning to end and fell in love with the music.  Not just that, I actually felt that warm fuzzy you get when you’ve enjoyed a little too much wine (or mead) but not enough to get drunk.  I don’t remember the last time I had music actually intoxicate me, but there I was last night, drunk on some of the most amazing music I’ve heard in a long time.  The wondrous thing, I had one song playing in my head so much I couldn’t sleep.  Oh and for the record, it’s playing while I type this.  I mean hell, if I’m going to be “hearing” it in my head I might as well actually be hearing it.  Right?

I’m not sure where I was going with this because I’ve drifted off twice now to the music.  Yeah, this is not how to get writing by the way . . . but I feel more creative today that I have in weeks.  I’m  not ignoring the coincidence of that by the way.   The challenge today is going to be in actually turning this music off.  I don’t want it to be what I write to.  I want this to be the respite from my writing, to be one of the bands I turn to when I want to enjoy music not brainstorm the next plot point.  I want this to stay the music I dream to.

2 Comments »

  1. I am so with you–music is more than food, more than air–it pulses our blood. I could no more write/create without music than I could stop breathing.

    Comment by Pamela Cayne — March 30, 2009 @ 1:41 pm

  2. Just wanted to say thanks for commenting on my cover at Pam’s blog :). Also, music…sigh. There was a night last week when I discovered a new song. I found the video of it posted on YouTube, and I stayed up until 1:30am just listening to it over and over until I’d memorized every note… I didn’t need to know it for any specific reason, but I just loved it and I wanted to completely internalize it. I was exhausted the next day but, you’re right, it just made me intoxicatingly happy, and it felt a whole lot like falling in love :-).

    Comment by Marilyn Brant — April 8, 2009 @ 12:46 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

