It's a coffee coloured world

November 8, 2009

NaNoWriMo week 1

Filed under: Uncategorized — coffeegirl88 @ 1:01 am
Tags:

Let’s just say this is not how I planned to start this challenge.  I started feeling sick Halloween night and by morning had a sore throat.  I spent Sunday curled up, either vegging in front of the tv, or asleep.  I have managed to write a little every day for the rest of the week, but it’s not the output I had been hoping for.  At least I am writing every day.  I’m figuring out the characters and now some of where I’m going.  Which isn’t bad. 

One thing I’ve come to wonder, as I do this challenge, is how do people write completely on the computer?  I need hard copies to sort through and fidget with.  Of course I am writing on my netbook, which makes referring back a little harder but still.  I guess I’m just old school enough that I need to feel the paper.  I love making notes on the page.  I love when I remember my editing notes.  Now if I could just remember my shorthand.  I wish I had put 2 and 2 together and recognized how shorthand would have helped my writing.  Oh and just for the clarification, I do mean shorthand, Gregg Shorthand.  Not that speedwriting crap they were just introducing my senior year of high school. 

Where was I?  Don’t remember.  I’ve been pulled a little out of story because I wanted to try on some new music, but I don’t think it’s going to work.  It’s beautiful music and I thought because the band was Native American and my heroine is Native American that it might work.  Nope.  it was a thought.  Maybe if was something more traditional?  Yeah, like I need more music on this story’s playlist.  It’s already 4+ hours long.

2 Comments »

  1. Just take care of yourself–the words will come. And if you choose to do NaNo in December, you know where an awesome (drink) support group is just waiting!

    Comment by Pamela Cayne — November 10, 2009 @ 11:56 am

  2. I’m feeling better, but I seriously have to remember I don’t have the energy I think I do. I wiped myself out last night going to the store. Have I mentioned I’m one of those people who walk in fast forward? Yeah, after a nap I did get some words in. The words have been flowing and I usually end the evening knowing where I want to go next so it’s all good, just slow moving. As long as I’m writing daily I don’t care.

    I will be doing something similar to NaNo in December, I’ve got last year’s manuscript to revise. So I’ll be posting more on the forums in December too, because you guys are very awesome (drink).

    Comment by coffeegirl88 — November 10, 2009 @ 12:01 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

