It's a coffee coloured world

May 3, 2012

It’s a ranty sort of day.

Filed under: Uncategorized — coffeegirl88 @ 6:32 pm

So yeah, I blog for the first time in 6 months and it’s full of ranty goodness.  Consider yourself warned.

Rant #1.

I found a new writer today, or rather a new to me writer.  I looked him up and found he’s right in my wheelhouse so to speak.  Military thriller written by a man who has been there, done that.  So being the frugal monkey I am (don’t laugh) I checked out my library’s online catalog.  By the way I want a gold star for remembering the damned local library first out, usually it’s a “oh right” thing I think of days later.  Anyway.  I type “Duncan Falconer” into the catalog and it goes “huh?”  Yeah.  So much for that.  I go to the Sony store as I still have a Sony branded ereader (probably not for much longer but that’s another story) and the Sony store echoes my local library.  Soooo I head over to Barnes & Noble dot com and they have his books, in dead tree format, expect for the first book in the series.  You can see where this is going right?  Yeah.  I head over to Amazon and there it is, in Kindle format only.  Oh the rest of the books are there in dead tree format but not the first one.  *sigh*  I’m going to try later and see if I can find this first book someplace if not I suspect I’ll be downloading the Kindle software for my iPhone and buy this one book.  Then the rest . . .  I don’t know.  Buying books shouldn’t be this complicated.  Oh and don’t even get me started on the complicated drama of trying to keep up with the Nick Stone books by Andy McNab. 

So I leave the house with this frustration on my mind.  Where am I heading?  To the evil empire (wally world).  Now I hate that store.  Seriously hate it with the fire only matched by my hate of Amazon but I live in a small town and there’s virtually no other option for basic stuffs.  So I boldly go and vent and complain and rant up and down the aisles getting the necessities of life, like red pens and Advil.  But today takes the cake, really.  I mean it was just after 6pm and there were 3 checkout lines open, well the 4 self check ones were open but I’m not doing someone else job not without a 20% discount. 

I dream of the day when I can get the hell out of here. 

Did I mention it was over 80 today?  Why is that important?  One week ago we had snow.  *sigh*

This has been my contribution to blogging through the month of May started by the beautiful Pam http://pamelacayne.wordpress.com/ and the wonderful Kim http://kimberlyfoley.wordpress.com/.  Now I’m not saying I’ll blog daily.  I’ve said it before, I’m just not that crazy.  At least not this month.  😉  Besides I’ve been up to other mischief elsewhere.  Oh!  And to talk about burying the lead.  I started the second draft of my latest novel.  Okay it was 66 words so far, but it’s no longer a blank page taunting me and driving me to check out Twitter and Instagram every couple of minutes.

 

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.